The 2012 International Symposium on Privacy and Security in Cloud and Social Networks (PriSecCSN 2012)

1-3 November 2012, Xiangtan, Hunan, China

co-located with International Conference on Cloud and Green Computing (CGC2012)


Social network analysis and cloud computing are two of the most exciting new trends in the recent developments of information technology. As the new generation computing paradigm, cloud enables computing resources to be provided as IT services in a pay-as-you-go fashion with high efficiency and effectiveness. With the popularity of social software as well as the fast development of cloud and other high-performance computing infrastructures, the outcome of social network analysis is becoming more and more attractive. However, information privacy and security issues are major challenges in both these areas. This symposium aims at providing a forum for researchers, practitioners and developers from different background areas such as distributed computing, social computing, information security and privacy protection areas to exchange the latest experience, research ideas and synergic research and development on fundamental issues and applications about security and privacy issues in cloud environments and social networks. The symposium solicits high quality research results in all related areas.


The objective of this symposium is to invite authors to submit original manuscripts that demonstrate and explore current advances in all aspects of security and privacy in cloud computing environments. The  symposium solicits novel papers on a broad range of topics, including but not limited to:  

Submission Requirements

Submit your papers in PDF file at the PriSecCSN2012 submission site: Papers should be limited up to 8 pages in IEEE format. Templates can be downloaded here for Word or LATEX. All papers will be peer reviewed by two or three PC members. Submitting a paper to the workshop means that if the paper is accepted, at least one author should register to CGC2012 and attend the conference to present the paper.

Publication of Papers

All accepted papers will appear in the proceedings published by IEEE Computer Society (EI indexed). Selected papers will be invited to special issues of CGC2012 in Concurrency and Computation: Practice and Experience, Future Generation Computer Systems and International Journal of High Performance Computing Applications.

Important Dates

Deadline for Paper Submission:             June 25, 2012

Notification of Acceptance:                     July 30, 2012 extended to 10 August 2012

Camera Ready Copies:                           August 10, 2012 extended to 25 August 2012

General Chairs:

Philip S. Yu, University of Illinois at Chicago, USA

Bhavani Thuraisingham, The University of Texas at Dallas, USA 

Vijay Varadharajan, Macquarie University, Australia

Program Committee Co-Chairs:

Chang Liu, University of Technology, Sydney, Australia

Rajiv Ranjan, CSIRO, Australia

Jinjun Chen, University of Technology, Sydney, Australia

Program Committee:

Rose-Mharie Åhlfeldt, University of Skövde, Sweden
Cristina Alcaraz, University of Malaga, Spain
Basel Alomair, University of Washington, USA
Alessandro Armando, Universita` di Genova, Italy
Reza Azarderakhsh, University of Waterloo, Canada
Shlomi Dolev, Ben-Gurion University, Israel
Rino Falcone, National Research Council, Italy
Debasis Giri, Haldia Institute of Technology, India
Dieter Gollmann, TU Hamburg-Harburg, Germany
Kartik Gopalan, SUNY ĘC Binghamton, USA
Victor Govindaswamy, Texas A&M University ĘC Texarkana, USA
Shuguo Han, Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore
Ching-Hsien Hsu, Chung Hua University, Taiwan
Meiko Jensen, Ruhr University Bochum, Germany
Henrik Johnsson, Blekinge Institute of Technology, Sweden
Changhoon Lee, Hanshin University, Korea
Sjouke Mauw, University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Yves-Alexandre de Montjoye, MIT, USA
Charles Morisset, IIT - CNR, Italy
David Naccache, ENS, France
Stefano Paraboschi, Universita degli Studi di Bergamo,Italy
Gerard Parr, University of Ulster, UK
Siani Pearson, HP Labs, UK
Guenther Pernul, University of Regensburg, Germany
Radha Poovendran, University of Washington, USA
Rami Puzis, Ben Gurion University, Israel
Peter Ryan, University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Jean-Marc Seigneur, University of Geneva, Switzerland
Abhinav Srivastava, AT&T Research, USA
Yevgeniy Vahlis, AT&T, USA
Guilin Wang, University of Wollongong, Australia
Ke Wang, Simon Fraser University, Burnaby
Yang Xiang, Deakin University, Australia
John Zic, CSIRO, Australia